Lemon cordial

It has been a very long time between blog posts. I was spending too much time commuting to work and not having much time or energy for anything else. Recently, I thankfully managed to pick up a job close to home and I can now spend more time in the garden and in the sunlight.

It also means I have time to write blog posts again. Our first harvest from our dwarf Meyer lemon tree (pictured above) has inspired me to write a post about making lemon cordial.

Cordial is something that I have loved since I was a small child. One day I was walking on my way to a catch-up with a friend and came across a man in the street selling lemons from his tree. They were about the same price as in the supermarket, but they looked much more appealing. He ended up convincing me to buy a couple of kilos and told me to try my hand at making lemon cordial.

Since then we have always had homemade cordial in the fridge at home. The bought stuff doesn’t even come close.

I have looked up many recipes over those years and my recipe has continually evolved and will continue to do. Original recipes I found contained about 1kg of sugar, which I found too sweet so I have almost halved it. I also have been recently using raw sugar as I prefer to use unprocessed sugar, however, the raw sugar can overpower the lemons with a caramel flavour.

Below is how I have been recently making cordial, but I’m sure it will continue to evolve as our tastes change.

Lemon cordial (makes 1.5L)

550g raw or white sugar (can be increased to your liking)
1 litre water
1 tablespoon tartaric acid
1 tablespoon citric acid
6-8 lemons (the more juice the better!)

  1. Place sugar and water in a saucepan on the stove and stir over a medium heat until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Add tartaric and citric acids and stir until dissolved.
  3. Remove saucepan from stove and let cool.
  4. Add grated rind of 1-2 lemons. I have read that the flavour will develop more if added whilst the liquid is still hot so I have been recently trying this method.
  5. Add juice of all of the lemons.
  6. Stir and pour into sterilised bottles. Place in fridge.

For those who don’t like pulp or grated rind floating in their cordial, this can be strained out before pouring the cordial into the bottles.

Leave a Reply

